Sale of Chametz
Chametz literally means fermented and is a general term for Leavened foods made from wheat, barley, rye, oats or spelt. All of the above are Chametz and are prohibited on Pesach. Examples are: bread, cake, cereal, spaghetti, beer and whisky. Even the minutest trace of leavened ingredients or their derivatives will render a particular food to be Chametz. The only exception is Matzah which though it is baked from wheat, care and precaution are taken to ensure that the flour and dough never reach the stage of fermenting.
All fresh fruits and vegetables as well as kosher meats and fish are Kosher for Passover provided they have not come into any contact with any Chametz. The Ashkenazic community has widely accepted the custom not to eat foods made of rice, millet, corn, mustard, legumes (beans etc.).
One is not permitted to eat Chametz or even keep Chametz in his possession on Pesach. Chametz, which has belonged to a Jew over Pesach, is prohibited forever. Hence we sell any Chametz we have, to a non -Jew before Pesach and buy it back after Pesach. It is common practice to authorize your Rabbi to act on your behalf to enter into a formal contract with a non-Jew, whereby the latter acquires all the Chametz in the possession of the persons for whom the Rabbi is acting. Chametz that is being sold should be placed in a designated room/closet and closed off for the duration of the holiday.
For a complete Passover guide, please check www.jewishthailand.com/passover
Chametz can be eaten Monday, April 10 until 10:10 am.
and must disposed of or sold by 11:13 am.
Please fill in the attached form authorizing Rabbi Kantor
to sell all of you Chametz items to a non-Jew from April 10, 10:10 am.